Bradford’s Director of Public Health, Sarah Muckle, urges Bradford residents to check the list of exempt countries from the 14-day isolation rule when they return to the UK.

Current UK government regulations on travel mean travellers returning from many countries, including, Pakistan, Bangladesh, India, Spain and Portugal, will need to self-isolate for 14 days upon arrival in the UK.

The isolation period also applies to travellers who changed or stopped over in non-exempt countries whilst in transit on their return journey to the UK.

Travellers need to self-isolate because it can take up to 14 days for coronavirus symptoms to appear. If visitors are travelling to the UK for less than 14 days, they will be expected to self-isolate for the length of their stay.

Sarah Muckle, Director of Public Health for Bradford Council, said: “If you are planning a trip abroad, or have friends and family who are currently travelling abroad or are coming for a visit we would advise you to check the list of exempt countries to confirm whether or not they may need to self-isolate upon arrival in the UK.

“The UK government is frequently updating the list of exempt countries so we would urge people to check this list regularly if they have concerns.

“You should not travel at all if you have symptoms of COVID-19.”

For a full list of exempt countries, visit:

For advice on how to self-isolate visit: