The New Years Honors list is out recognising a total of 1,097 individuals for their extraordinary services.

This year’s list recognises more than 40 men and women from the South Asian community.

These include British Bangaldeshi TV Star Nadiya Hussain, who wowed us all when she won Great British Bake off in 2015 and has continued to impress us with her humble and infectious personality and cooking talents. The 35 year old has been awarded with an MBE for services to broadcasting and the culinary arts 

The list also includes thirteen-year-old Ibrahim Yousaf who is the youngest member to have been awarded a British Empire Medal (BEM) for charity fundraising in his home town Oldham.

Ibrahim, who is fondly known as Ibby spends much of his free time trying to raise money for eleven different charities in his home town of Oldham.

The teenager has been using his social media to fundraise for charities and also gives away his pocket, birthday and Eid money to charity.

Many of the South Asian recipients in this years list have been awarded for their charity, philanthropy or interfaith and community relations work.

Shabir Beg, Chair of Scottish Ahlul Bayt Society, Dr Ramesh Damji Devji Pattni, Maksud Ahmed Gangat, Director of Education Al Risalah Education Trust, Dr Sudarshan Kapur, Yusuf Patel, Community Engagement Coordinator Redbridge Borough Council were awarded for their services to interfaith relations.

Here is the full list of South Asian men and Women recognised in the New Years Honors List.


Constable Bharat Kumar NARBAD, South Wales Police



Professor Rowena Arshad, OBE. (Rowena Parnell). Lately head, Moray House School of Education, University of Edinburgh and Co-director, Centre for Education for Racial Equality in Scotland. For services to Education and to Equality.

Shobana Jeyasingh, MBE. Choreographer and Founder, Shobana Jeyasingh Dance Company. For services to Dance. (London)

Professor Aditi Lahiri, FBA. Professor of Linguistics, University of Oxford. For services to the Study of Linguistics. (Oxfordshire)

Dr Saker Anwar Nusseibeh. Chief executive Officer Hermes Investment Management. For services to Responsible Business and to the Financial Sector. (London)

Paul Pavandeep Thandi, DL. Chief executive Officer, NEC Group. For services to the Economy. (Warwickshire)

Ali Akbor. Chief executive Officer Unity Housing Association. For services to the community in Leeds. (Greater Manchester)

Shabir Beg. Chair Scottish Ahlul Bayt Society. For services to Interfaith Relations in Glasgow. (Glasgow)

Dr Zahid Mehmood Chauhan. For services to Homeless People. (Greater Manchester)

Renuka Priyadarshini Dent (Renuka Jeyarajah-Dent). Director of Operations and Deputy chief executive Officer Coram UK. For services to Children and Families.

Sabah Gilani. Chief executive Officer Better Community Business Network. For services to Young People and to the Muslim community. (Bedfordshire)

Nishma Gosrani. For voluntary services to Promoting Diversity and Inclusion. (London)

Arundeep Singh Kang. For services to the Development of Black Asian and Minority Ethnic communities. (Warwickshire)

Rishi Khosla. Chief executive Officer OakNorth Bank Limited. For services to Business. (London)

Neena Lall. Headteacher St Stephen’s School and Children’s Centre, London Borough of Newham. For services to Education. (London)

Javad Marandi. For services to Business and to Philanthropy. (London)

Dr Ramesh Damji Devji Pattni. For services to Interfaith Relations and to the Hindu community in the UK. (London)



Mohamed Ashraf Ali. Head of Projects British Muslim Heritage Centre. For services to Community Relations. (Greater Manchester)

Mumtaz Ali. Work Coach Sparkhill Jobcentre Plus, Department for Work and Pensions. For services to Disadvantaged Customers in Birmingham. (West Midlands)

Mohammad Saqib Bhatti. President Greater Birmingham Chamber of Commerce. For services to Diversity and to Inclusion in Business Communities. (West Midlands)

Razia Butt. Independent Education Adviser Birmingham City Council. For services to Education. (West Midlands)

Aziza Chaudry. Quality manager Adult Education Wolverhampton. For services to Education. (West Midlands)

Maksud Ahmed Gangat. Director of Education Al Risalah Education Trust. For services to the Muslim community and Interfaith in South London. (London)

Sonia Gharyal. Policy Lead Office of Security and Counter Terrorism, Home Office. For services to National Security. (London)

Shakuntla Gittins. Foster Carer London Borough of Ealing. For services to Children. (London)

Parveen Hassan. Inclusion and Community Engagement manager Crown Prosecution Service. For services to Community Engagement, Inclusion and Equality. (West Midlands)

Arif Hussain. For services to the Muslim Community in the UK and Abroad. (Buckinghamshire)

Nadiya Hussain. For services to Broadcasting and to the Culinary Arts. (Buckinghamshire)

Nadeem Hassan Javaid. For services to Community Cohesion and to Young People. (London)

Dr Sudarshan Kapur. For services to Interfaith Understanding and to the community in East London. (London)

Yogesh Patel. For services to Literature. (London)

Yusuf Patel. Community Engagement Coordinator Redbridge Borough Council. For services to Community and Interfaith Cohesion in the London Borough of Redbridge. (London)

Dr Tara Quasim. (Tara Quasim-Shah). Clinical Co-Lead InS:PIRE. For services to People with Post Intensive Care Syndrome.

Jasvir Kaur Rababan. For services to the Sikh community. (London)

Mohammed Tariq Rafique. For services to the community in Greater Manchester. (Greater Manchester)

Baljinder Singh Rai. For services to Parliament. (London)

Sukwinder Kaur Samra. Headteacher Elmhurst School and director, Elmhurst TSA. For services to Education. (London)

Dr Adeela Ahmed Shafi. Reader in Education University of Gloucestershire. For services to Social Justice in Bristol. (Bristol)

Manjulika Singh. For services to Yoga to Health and to the Community. (Dunbartonshire)



Ali Abdi. For voluntary service to the Black Asian and Minority Ethnic community in Cardiff. (South Glamorgan)

Kishan Rajesh Devani. For services to community cohesion. (London)

Nadia Rehman Khan. Co-founder The Delicate Mind. For services to Mental Health and to Integration in London and Birmingham. (Leicestershire)

Subnum Hariff-Khan. For services to Public Libraries. (Greater Manchester)

Sahdaish Kaur Pall. For services to Victims of Domestic Abuse and to the community in the West Midlands. (West Midlands)

Kanubhai Raojibhai Patel. For services to the community in South West London and Surrey. (Surrey)

Rita Patel. Correspondence Officer HM Treasury. For services to Public Administration. (London)

Afzal Pradhan. Volunteer Cricketeer ICC Cricket World Cup 2019. For services to Cricket. (London)

Abdool Hamid Rohomon. West Midlands Police. For services to Policing. (Worcestershire)

Paramjit Singh Sandhu. Immigration Officer Home Office. For services to Community Engagement. (London)

Harpreet Singh Virdee. For services to the Black Asian and Minority Ethnic community and to Diversity and Inclusion. (London)

Ibrahim Yousaf. For services to the community in Oldham Greater Manchester. (Greater Manchester)



Dr Bikramjit Singh Bhangu. President South East Asia, Pacific and South Korea, Rolls-Royce and lately. British Chamber of Commerce, Singapore. For services to Trade and British commercial interests.


Sanam Naraghi Anderlini. Co-Founder and Executive director International Civil Society Action Network. For services to International peacebuilding and Women’s Rights.