- Advertisement -spot_imgspot_imgspot_img
13.8 C
Tuesday, June 18, 2024

Here are the candidates standing in Kirklees’ local elections

Several councillors are standing down this year.

The 100 candidates set to fight local elections in Kirklees on May 5 have been revealed.

A third of all 69 seats are up for election with one seat in all of Kirklees’ 23 wards going to the polls. Key “battleground” wards include Lindley, Dewsbury East, Heckmondwike, Golcar, Holme Valley North, Denby Dale and Colne Valley.

Several councillors are standing down this year including veteran Labour man Peter McBride in Dalton as well as the Conservatives’ Nigel Patrick in Holme Valley South and another respected Labour member, Harpreet Uppal, in Ashbrow.

Kirklees local election count at Cathedral House, St Thomas’s Rd, Huddersfield.

The council is currently in no overall control with Labour (33 seats), Conservatives (19 seats), Liberal Democrats (nine seats), Greens (three seats), Holme Valley North Independents (three seats) and other Independents (two seats).

Of the seats up for election this year, Labour hold 11, Conservatives six, Lib Dems four, Holme Valley North Independents one and Greens one.

The election count will take place at Cathedral House in Huddersfield from 8.45am on Friday, May 6.

Three Labour Cabinet members – Viv Kendrick, Cathy Scott and Will Simpson – are defending their seats along with Conservative group leader David Hall, Conservative scrutiny chair Liz Smaje and Lib Dem group leader John Lawson.

Here’s a round-up by the Local Democracy Reporting Service of all 100 candidates, their parties or any affiliations, and which wards represent key “battleground” areas.

Sitting councillors are highlighted in bold.


  • Maria Ackroyd (Con)
  • Barbara Jones (Lab)
  • Alison Munro (Lib Dems)
  • Peter Taylor (Green)


Labour’s Harpreet Uppal is standing down this year. She polled 56% of the vote when she was elected in 2018. The seat is considered comfortably Labour.

  • Dafydd Daniel (Con)
  • Fran Perry (Lab)
  • Manjit Singh (Lib Dems)
  • Brenda Smithson (Green)


Labour’s Mahmood Akhtar is standing down this year. He previously polled 75% of the vote in a ward where Labour does well. The presence this year of the Workers Party may affect the Labour vote.

  • Aziz Daji (Workers Party of Britain)
  • Simon Duffy (Green)
  • Keiron Gavaghan (Con)
  • David Shepherd (Lib Dems)
  • Adam Zaman (Lab)


  • Mohammed Laher (Con)
  • Stephen Long (Lib Dems)
  • Gwen Lowe (Lab)
  • Jack Senior (Green)


  • Tahir Akram (Green)
  • Liz Smaje (Con)
  • Julie Smith (Lab)
  • Louise Walsh (Lib Dems)


  • Piers Briggs (Con)
  • John Lawson (Lib Dems)
  • Khalid Patel (Lab)


It’s been a topsy-turvy few years in Colne Valley with Labour taking the seat from the Tories only for Labour resignations to give the Conservatives a chance to come back. Donna Bellamy is well-known in the area but she will be given a run for her money by Harry McCarthy, who performed well in Holme Valley North last year.

  • Donna Bellamy (Con)
  • Jake Marchington (Lib Dems)
  • Harry McCarthy (Lab)
  • Julia Norman (Green)
  • Melanie Roberts (UKIP)


Labour’s Erin Hill is standing down this year.

  • Isaac Barnett (Con)
  • Suzanna Barraclough (Lib Dems)
  • Steve Bradbury (Ind)
  • Chris Green (Green)
  • Jo Lawson (Lab)


Viewed as a rising star in the Labour Party, Tyler Hawkins is standing instead of Peter McBride, who is retiring. He needs to work hard to ensure the Tories don’t increase their vote share. Labour won by just 153 votes in Dalton in 2021 with the Conservatives claiming they barely campaigned in the ward.

  • Dominic Black (Lib Dems)
  • James Easingwood (Con)
  • Tyler Hawkins (Lab)
  • Clare Walters (Green)


After unseating Labour’s Graham Turner in 2021 the Conservatives will be hoping for a re-run of that result by beating Cabinet member Will Simpson. He bagged the seat in a by-election in 2018, winning by just 145 votes.

  • Craig Armistead (Lib Dems)
  • Vicky Rank (Con)
  • Michael Shaw (Green)
  • Will Simpson (Lab)
  • Jonathan Tilt (Freedom Alliance)


It’s expected to be a two-horse race in Dewsbury East between Labour and the Conservatives. Keith Mallinson has been active on local issues such as roads and housing but Labour Cabinet member Cathy Scott has performed well in the past, beating rival (later Dewsbury MP) Mark Eastwood in 2018.

  • Sir Archibald Stanton Earl ‘Eaton (Monster Raving Loony Party)
  • Keith Mallinson (Con)
  • Gideon Richards (Green)
  • Cathy Scott (Lab)
  • Dan Woodlock (Lib Dems)


  • Masood Ahmed (Lab)
  • Sean Guy (Con)
  • Dennis Hullock (Lib Dems)
  • Albert Parker (Green)


Labour’s Mumtaz Hussain, a former Mayor of Kirklees, is standing down this year.

  • Ammar Anwar (Lab)
  • Sajid Hussain (Con)
  • John Rossington (Lib Dems)
  • Nicholas Whittingham (Green)


It was a close-fought thing in Golcar last year with Labour and the Lib Dems battling it out over two seats. Robert Iredale is defending and is challenged by Labour’s Graham Turner, who was ousted in 2021 in Denby Dale by the Tories. Mr Turner is a former Cabinet member.

  • Trevor Bellamy (Con)
  • Miri Finch (Freedom Alliance)
  • Robert Iredale (Lib Dems)
  • Nina Roberts (Green)
  • Graham Turner (Lab)


  • Peter Harrison (Lib Dems)
  • Eileen Marchant (Con)
  • Heather Peacock (Green)
  • Mohan Sokhal (Lab)


Labour squeaked across the line in 2021, winning by 148 votes. Itrat Ali will be chasing a better result this year and aiming to topple Labour’s Viv Kendrick, a senior councillor and Cabinet member. A crucial development is the appearance of the Workers Party, which could nab traditional Labour voters.

  • Itrat Ali (Con)
  • Zahid Kahut (Workers Party of Britain)
  • Viv Kendrick (Lab)
  • Josie Pugsley (Lib Dems)


There were just 113 votes between the Independents and the Conservatives last year.  Returning candidate Tony McGrath will be looking to close the gap and unseat veteran Terry Lyons.

  • Kingsley Hill (Lib Dems)
  • Susan Laird (Reform UK)
  • Ben Lockley (Lab)
  • Terry Lyons (Ind)
  • Tony McGrath (Con)
  • Samuel Midgley (Green)


Long-serving Conservative (and current Mayor of Kirklees) Nigel Patrick stood down this year after two decades as a councillor. His candidacy has been taken by Damian Brook. Labour man Moses Crook polled 36% of the vote in 2021 – not enough to win against well-established Donald Firth. This year could see an upset.

  • Damian Brook (Con)
  • Moses Crook (Lab)
  • Darryl Gould (Green)
  • Andrew McCaig (Lib Dems)


  • Waheed Anwar (Lib Dems)
  • Bill Armer (Con)
  • Richard Burton (Green)
  • Soyeb Yusuf (Lab)


The Lib Dems are under pressure from the Conservatives, who won the ward last year by unseating Richard Eastwood. David Heathcote has been very visible in recent months, but he faces stiff competition from Cahal Burke, a popular and hard-working local councillor.

  • Gulfam Asif (Lab)
  • Cahal Burke (Lib Dems)
  • David Heathcote (Con)
  • Ian Vincent (Green)


  • David Hall (Con)
  • Jude McKaig (Lab)
  • Linda Simmons (Green)
  • David Snee (Lib Dems)


  • Stephen Bird (Lib Dems)
  • Geoff Kernan (Lab)
  • Vivien Lees-Hamilton (Con)
  • Catherine Whittingham (Green)


  • Karen Allison (Green)
  • Bikatshi Katenga (Yorkshire Party)
  • John Roberts (Con)
  • Mohammed Safdar (Lab)
  • Andrew Wilkinson (Lib Dems)
- Advertisement -spot_img

Latest News